Skip to Content | About | Contact

Royal Australian Mint - Sir Douglas Mawson Coin

Antarctica and the history of its exploration is an exciting and important part of Australia’s history and culture, and the future of Antarctica’s environment an important responsibility.

Through his expeditions, Sir Douglas Mawson made a significant contribution to the scientific study and understanding of Antarctica and other related phenomena in geology and meteorology. His story reveals a man who gave his energy and almost his life to explore and study the coldest place on earth.

This coin is the 5th release of the Inspirational Australians Series – where notable Australians are honoured for their unique influence and contributions to Australian Society. Previous Inspirational Australians included in this series are; Mary McKillop, Steve Irwin, Fred Hollows, and Dame Joan Sutherland.

The coin has now been released for sale and can be purchased from the Royal Australian Mint, Denison Street, Deakin, ACT, 2600. The shop is open from 9.00am - 4.00pm or via online.

Please telephone the Royal Australian Mint for further information if required on telephone (02) 6202 6999 or via email.

This page was last modified on July 3, 2014.